Can Passengers Injured in a Rideshare Crash Recover Damages?

Can Passengers Injured in a Rideshare Crash Recover Damages?

0827504001620331548.jpg

Rideshare companies like Uber and Lyft now offer a convenient form of transportation for many individuals around Florida. However, when you choose to use a rideshare company to get to your destination, you are putting your trust in that stranger to get you from point A to point B safely.

Car crashes are, unfortunately, a common occurrence. If you suffer injuries while in a rideshare vehicle, you may have questions about your ability to file a claim for damages. There are many factors you will need to consider, including Florida's no-fault insurance policy, which driver is at fault, and what the potential damages might cover in your case. If you or a loved one suffered injuries in a Lyft or an Uber, contact a Florida personal injury attorney today.

At Loshak Leach LLP, our attorneys understand how devastating car accident-related injuries are for clients. Medical bills and other related expenses can add up and place a financial strain on families as well. Call us today to discuss your case and your legal options.

No-Fault Insurance and Rideshare Accidents

Florida's no-fault insurance law can be useful in recovering after a minor collision. The policies cover up to $10,000 in medical expenses regardless of whether you are at fault or another driver. However, anyone who suffered injuries in a collision likely understands how quickly medical bills accrue.

In no time at all, you might find that you exceeded at $10,000 no-fault policy. Fortunately, in cases of serious injuries, you still have the right to file a claim against the at-fault driver. If you suffered injuries well writing in an Uber or Lyft, the first issue to consider is who caused the collision.

When Your Driver is at Fault

If your Uber driver caused the crash, you might wonder whether you can sue Uber. The same is true for Lyft. However, drivers for Uber and Lyft are not employees, and it is unlikely that you will be able to Sue the company. There might be some exceptions, such as if one of these rideshare companies hired a driver with a history of dangerous driving behaviors.

Still, you can file a lawsuit against the Uber or Lyft driver in the same way as if any other driver caused your injuries. Fortunately, when a rideshare driver has a passenger in the vehicle, the driver will have $1,000,000 in liability insurance. This significant policy will often cover injuries related check car accidents.

It is worth noting that the $1,000,000 in coverage only applies at certain times. Suppose you suffer injuries because of a rideshare driver while you are in another vehicle or a pedestrian. In that case, the policy amount might be less than if the driver has a passenger or is logged into the app but has not accepted a passenger. For a passenger in a rideshare, the $1,000,000 policy should apply.

If Another Driver Caused the Crash

You will only have a lawsuit against the rideshare driver if they caused the crash, leading to your injuries. If another driver causes a crash that injures you while riding in a rideshare vehicle, you would have to file a claim against that other driver. Your rideshare driver might also have a claim against that negligent motorist.

In these cases, the amount of coverage will depend on the other driver's insurance policy. Sadly, many motorists in Florida failed to carry insurance coverage. If the other driver lacks insurance, you might be able to file an uninsured or underinsured motorist claim based on the rideshare companies' policy.     

Recovering Damages After a Rideshare Accident

Damages you can recover after a severe car accident will vary depending on the injuries that you sustained in that collision. The types of damages include the following:

  • Medical costs, surgery bills, and rehabilitation expenses
  • Compensation for your pain and suffering, physical impairment, and mental anguish
  • Lost income, salary, and wages
  • Future medical costs
  • Future lost earnings and compensation for lost earning capacity
  • Wrongful death damages if a loved one dies in the crash

In rare cases, you might also have the opportunity to recover punitive damages. Punitive damages only apply when the person who caused the crash engaged in egregious gross negligence, such as driving while intoxicated.

You could find that the insurance company for the liable driver reaches out to offer a settlement. It is essential that you do not accept an offer until you consult with a lawyer. Insurers will often attempt to settle claims for amounts that are far lower than your actual damages.

Call Loshak Leach LLP Today

Car crashes are frightening and often disorienting. If you sustained severe harm, you should reach out to an auto accident attorney. At Loshak Leach LLP, we represent accident injury victims throughout South Florida. Call today for a consultation with an experienced personal injury lawyer.

Contact Us

Please fill out the form below and our attorney will contact you.

!
!
!

Maps & Directions